Aim and Topics
Important Dates
Conference Code of Conduct
Organizing Committee

Logic and Engineering of Natural Language Semantics 17 (LENLS17)

Workshop Site(s): **Online**
Dates: November 15-16, 2020
  • Koji Mineshima (Keio University)
  • Elin McCready (Aoyama Gakuin University)
  • Daisuke Bekki (Ochanomizu University)
Invited Speakers:
  • Patrick Elliott (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Yohei Oseki (University of Tokyo)

Aim and Topics

LENLS is an annual international workshop on formal syntax, semantics and pragmatics. It will be held **online** as one of the workshops of the JSAI International Symposia on AI (JSAI-isAI2020) sponsored by the Japan Society for Artificial Intelligence (JSAI).

We invite submissions to this year's workshop on topics in formal syntax, semantics and pragmatics, and related fields, including but in no way limited to the following:

  • Formal syntax, semantics and pragmatics of natural language
  • Model-theoretic and/or proof-theoretic semantics of natural language
  • Computational Semantics
  • Game-theoretic/Bayesian approaches to pragmatics
  • Nonclassical Logic and its relation to natural language (especially Substructural/Fuzzy/Categorical/Topological logics)
  • Formal Philosophy of language
  • Scientific methodology and/or experimental design for linguistics

Selected Papers

A selection of the accepted/invited full papers will be published as a portion of a volume "JSAI-isAI selected papers" from 'Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI)' series (Springer Verlag).

Important dates:

Abstract submission deadline:September 19, 2020 (extended)
Notification of acceptance:October 4, 2020
Deadline for camera-ready copy:October 31, 2020
Deadline for registration:November 14, 2020
LENLS17:November 15-16, 2020


Please follow the link below and register yourself until November 14. Note that the zoom URL of the workshop will be informed to the registered persons only.


1st Day: November 15 (Sun)

9:50-10:00 Opening remark
10:00-11:00 Invited talk  
  • Yohei Oseki
  • "(TBA)"
11:00-12:00 Session  
  • Ryan Walter Smith
  • "An in situ approach to composing complex comparatives"
  • David Yoshikazu Oshima
  • "Against the multidimensional approach to honorific meaning: A solution to the binding problem of conventional implicature"
  • Shun Ihara and Kenta Mizutani
  • "Superlative modifiers as concessive conditionals"
14:00-15:30 Session  
  • Hinari Daido and Daisuke Bekki
  • "Development of an automated theorem prover for the fragment of DTS"
  • Regine Eckardt and Eva Csipak
  • "The explicated addressee - A pragmatic analysis of Japanese ka-questions"
  • Alastair Butler
  • "Knowledge acquisition from natural language with Treebank Semantics and Flora-2"
16:30-18:00 Session  
  • Akitaka Yamada and Lucia Donatelli
  • "A Persona-based Analysis of Politeness in Japanese and Spanish"
  • Kristina Liefke
  • "Modelling Selectional Super-Flexibility"
  • Philippe de Groote and Maria Boritchev
  • "On dialogue modeling: a dynamic epistemic inquisitive approach"

2nd Day: November 16 (Mon)

10:00-11:00 Invited talk  
  • Patrick Elliott
  • "Classical negation in a dynamic alternative semantics"
11:00-12:00 Session  
  • Eri Tanaka
  • "Amazing degrees"
  • Gergei Bana and Mitsuhiro Okada
  • "Semantics for 'Typically' in Default Reasoning"
  • Chungmin Lee
  • "Content Nominals with and without Factive Presupposition"
14:00-15:30 Session  
  • Lukas Rieser
  • "Expectative bias and (non-)propositional negation"
  • Oleg Kiselyov
  • "Polynomial Event Semantics: Negation"
  • Satoru Suzuki
  • "Measurement-Theoretic Foundations of Resemblance Nominalism"
16:30-18:00 Session  
  • Weronika T. Adrian, Artur Bugaj and Piotr Swedrak
  • "Adapting selected knowledge-based similarity metrics for instance similarity"
  • Kristina Liefke and Markus Werning
  • "Parasitic Imagination and the Inside/Outside-Distinction"
  • Philippe de Groote and William Babonnaud
  • "Lexical selection, coercion, and record types"
18:00-18:10 Closing remark

Conference Code of Conduct

All attendees, speakers, sponsors and volunteers at our conference are required to agree with the following code of conduct. Organisers will enforce this code throughout the event. We expect cooperation from all participants to help ensure a safe environment for everybody.

The Quick Version

Our conference is dedicated to providing a harassment-free conference experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, or religion (or lack thereof). We do not tolerate harassment of conference participants in any form. Sexual language and imagery is not appropriate for any conference venue, including talks, workshops, parties, Twitter and other online media. Conference participants violating these rules may be sanctioned or expelled from the conference without a refund at the discretion of the conference organisers.

The Less Quick Version

Harassment includes offensive verbal comments related to gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion, sexual images in public spaces, deliberate intimidation, stalking, following, harassing photography or recording, sustained disruption of talks or other events, inappropriate physical contact, and unwelcome sexual attention.

Participants asked to stop any harassing behavior are expected to comply immediately.

If a participant engages in harassing behavior, the conference organisers may take any action they deem appropriate, including warning the offender or expulsion from the conference with no refund.

If you are being harassed, notice that someone else is being harassed, or have any other concerns, please contact the following member of conference staff immediately: Elin McCready / Daisuke Bekki

Conference staff will be happy to help participants contact hotel/venue security or local law enforcement, provide escorts, or otherwise assist those experiencing harassment to feel safe for the duration of the conference. We value your attendance.

We expect participants to follow these rules at conference and workshop venues and conference-related social events.

Organizing/Program Committee:

  • Elin McCready (Aoyama Gakuin University)
  • Daisuke Bekki (Ochanomizu University)
  • Naoya Fujikawa (University of Tokyo)
  • Koji Mineshima (Keio University)
  • Alastair Butler (Hirosaki University)
  • Richard Dietz (University of Tokyo)
  • Yurie Hara (Hokkaido University)
  • Magdalena Kaufmann (University of Connecticut)
  • Kristina Liefke (Goethe-Universitat Frankfurt)
  • Yoshiki Mori (University of Tokyo)
  • David Y. Oshima (Nagoya University)
  • Katsuhiko Sano (Hokkaido University)
  • Osamu Sawada (Kobe University)
  • Wataru Uegaki (University of Edinburgh)
  • Katsuhiko Yabushita (Naruto University of Education)
  • Tomoyuki Yamada (Hokkaido University)
  • Shunsuke Yatabe (Kyoto University)
  • Kei Yoshimoto (Tohoku University)